Home Events Maine Country Music Hall of Fame 46th Annual Induction Ceremony and Show

Maine Country Music Hall of Fame 46th Annual Induction Ceremony and Show

Maine Country Music Hall of Fame 46th Annual Induction Ceremony and Show.

Maine country musicians, Johnny Hiland and Doug Baker will be inducted into the Maine Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum at the 46th Annual Induction Ceremony and Show on Sunday, May 21th , 2023, 1 pm at the Silver Spur, 272 Lewiston St., Mechanic Falls, Maine. The event will showcase the life and music of Hiland and Baker plus 13 other “Special Inductees”, all from the state of Maine. Master of Ceremonies is 2022 Inductee, Peter Allen. Following the ceremony will be a live show of Hall of Famers plus a special presentation to the winner of the 2nd Annual Maine Country Music Hall of Fame High School Guitar Competition. This program is sponsored by Norway Savings Bank, Renys, McKusick Petroleum Company, and Ken Wentworth.

Johnny Hiland was born in Baileyville, Maine. Legally blind, he started playing at the age of two and was performing by the age of seven and at age 10 won the Talent America Contest in New York City. Johnny plays many instruments including guitar, banjo, fiddle, mandolin, and more. He moved to Nashville in 1996 and has played on stage and recorded with big names such as Toby Keith, Trick Pony, Randy Travis, Ricky Skaggs, Lynn Anderson, Les Paul, Hank III and more.

Doug Baker, who passed in 2018 was born in Bangor, Maine. He started his career at the age of ten appearing on WMET-TV in Bangor. Doug played in award-winning bands throughout New England as well as in other areas of the country. He eventually formed his own band, “Bootleg,” and opened for names like Shelly West, Kitty Wells, Freddy Fender, The Platters, Terri Gibbs, Faron Young, Charlie Daniels, Jerry Lee Lewis, Donna Fargo, Big Al Downing, and more. Over the years, Doug received many awards for his musicianship, songwriting, and vocals. Lastly, he played with the “Mainely Country Band” with fellow Hall of Famers Jeff Simon and Sonny Bickford.
The “Special Group” inductees for 2023 include both living and deceased prominent Maine country musicians including Hazel “B” Clarke, Betty DeCoteau, Dotty Farrell, Juanita Graves, George Harnish, Jimmie & Dick, Rusty Monroe, Lisa Higgins Overlock, Ray Stafford, Buzzy & Kathy Vanadestine and “Tennessee Ted” Varney.

The Maine Country Music Hall of Fame was founded in 1978. The Museum, established in 2008, is the only country music hall of fame museum east of Nashville. The 3000-square foot space in the lower level of the Silver Spur is an amazing showcase for thousands of historic memorabilia accumulated over the decades, bringing to life and preserving the legacy of over 150 inductees from the State of Maine. Free tours of the Museum will be held on site after the show.

The 46th Annual Induction Ceremony will take place at the Silver Spur, 272 Lewiston St, Mechanic Falls, Maine on Sunday, May 21, 2023. Doors open at 11:30 am and show begin at 1 pm. General admission tickets are $15, available at the door. Reservations will be accepted by calling Nancy at 207-645-2472. The snack bar will be open for snacks, light lunch and beverage. This is a family-friendly event. For more information call 603-553-1973, email mariaholloway207@gmail.com or find the Hall of Fame on Facebook. The Maine Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum is a 501(c) (3) non-profit cultural organization.


May 21 2023


1:00 pm - 4:00 pm

More Info

More Information
Silver Spur Dance Hall


Silver Spur Dance Hall
272 Lewiston Rd, Mechanic Falls, ME 04256